Muzzle/Noseband for Shamas?

I'm thinking that with the new puppy coming in about 6 weeks, now might be a good time to muzzle-train Shamas. I'm not concerned about potential aggression, but Shamas does get excited and mouthy...I'd like that safety measure in place so he doesn't nip the puppy. Matt is older, and "tells" Shamas if he's getting too excited, or if his mouth gets too close for comfort. A puppy...I'm not so sure?

I'm not sure the best type of muzzle/noseband to use, given the purpose? Would we want a Baskervile? And what size? Or would a simple noseband do the trick? I definitely want to be able to feed treats, and I'd like him free to sniff, and even potentially offer kisses.

If the puppy comes at 12 weeks, we should have a good amount of time to get Shamas used to the hardware.....Appolo is 3 weeks old now

I'm a bit new to this, but currently having a 10 week puppy and older dog, I wouldn't be thinking of this as a first choice. It depends on how Shamas reacts, of course, but if puppy is bitey, then Shamas needs to be allowed to use his mouth to teach him appropriate behaviour , this looks a bit full on sometimes ( ie Monty has his whole mouth around Bear's neck, with a paw across his middle)but it's all managed and if anything, Monty comes off much worse from those sharp puppy teeth. ) Monty hasn't always got the softest mouth, he can snatch treats when he gets overexcited, but I think with Bear he's playing it out really well.

All I would say is maybe wait and see how they are together, you might well be pleasantly surprised with how Shamas takes in the responsibility of a young pup, I think adult dogs mostly know how to react differently to a puppy than other adult dogs, regardless of their size.

If he doesn't, then there are all sorts of separation measures you would have to deploy anyway, separate to a muzzle to keep them apart, and start a programme of gentle controlled integration.